Arsenal released official squad to face Chelsea ahead of clash

April 20th, 2022

Arsenal released official squad to face Chelsea ahead of clash

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Stuttering Arsenal will be aiming to avoid a fourth consecutive league defeat as they travel to Stamford Bridge to take on Chelsea. The Gunners are currently in the midst of a very poor run of form having lost their last three matches, results that have seen their charge for a Champions League place hit the buffers.

Arsenal’s latest reverse came at the hands of Southampton at the weekend – Jan Bednarek’s strike just before the break proving to be the difference between the two sides. The defeat means that the Gunners have fallen three points behind Tottenham Hotspur in the race for the top four.

A win at Stamford Bridge would firmly put Mikel Arteta’s men back on track and they will certainly be hopeful of doing just that having managed to claim three points in west London last season – Emile Smith Rowe netting the winning goal. In order to do that though, the Gunners will certainly have to put some serious thought into the team they will field, with a number of first-team stars either ruled out or doubtful.

Long term absentees Thomas Partey and Kieran Tierney both remain restricted to the sidelines. The pair appear somewhat unlikely to take to the pitch again this campaign.

Elsewhere, Takehiro Tomiyasu has been out for an extended period having been struggling with a number of calf issues since his summer move from Cagliari. Alexandre Lacazette is also a considerable doubt having tested positive for Covid-19 ahead of the weekend’s clash with Southampton. It remains to be seen whether he will be able to return against the Blues.

With all of that being said, take a look at the full squad Arteta has at his disposal ahead of the trip to Stamford Bridge:

Goalkeepers: Aaron Ramsdale, Bernd Leno, Arthur Okonkwo

Defenders: Ben White, Gabriel Magalhaes, Rob Holding, Nuno Tavares, Cedric Soares, Mazeed Ogungbo, Zak Swanson,

Midfielders: Granit Xhaka, Mohamed Elneny, Albert Sambi Lokonga, Martin Odegaard, Emile Smith Rowe, Miguel Azeez, Omari Hutchinson

Forwards: Bukayo Saka, Gabriel Martinelli, Nicolas Pepe, Eddie …….